Research to Prevent Blindness

Scientific Advisory Panel

Robin Ali, PhD, FMedSci 
Professor Human Molecular Genetics
King's College London
Director, KCL Centre for Cell and Gene Therapy
Director, NIHR Guy's and St. Thomas' Biomedical Research Centre
Visiting Professor
Kellogg Eye Center, University of Michigan

Bela Anand-Apte, MBBS, PhD, MBA
Professor, Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine
Department of Ophthalmology
Chair-Ophthalmic Research, Cole Eye Institute
Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Vadim Y. Arshavsky, PhD
Helena Rubinstein Professor and Vice Chair for Basic Research
Department of Ophthalmology
Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology
Duke University Medical Center

Peter A. Campochiaro, MD
George S. & Dolores Dore Eccles Professor of Ophthalmology
and Neuroscience
The Wilmer Eye Institute
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

Zelia Maria Correa, MD, PhD
Professor of Ophthalmology
Director Ocular Oncology Service
Medical Director Echography Service
Bascom Palmer Eye Institute
University of Miami 

Ali Djalilian, MD
Searls-Schenk Professor of Ophthalmology
Department of Ophthalmology
Director, Stem Cell Therapy and Corneal Tissue Engineering Laboratory
University of Illinois College of Medicine

John H. Fingert, MD, PhD
Hadley-Carver Chair in Glaucoma
Director, Glaucoma Service and Glaucoma Research Center
Professor, Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine

Jayashree Kalpathy-Cramer, PhD
Endowed Chair in Ophthalmic Data Sciences
Chief, Division of Artificial Medical Intelligence
Department of Ophthalmology
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus

J. Anthony Movshon, PhD
University Professor and Silver Professor
Center for Neural Science
New York University
Professor of Ophthalmology and of
Neuroscience and Physiology
NYU Langone Grossman School of Medicine

Jerry Y. Niederkorn, PhD
Prof. Emeritus
Department of Ophthalmology and Microbiology
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Cynthia Owsley, PhD, MSPH
Nathan E. Miles Endowed Chair of Ophthalmology
Professor and Director, Clinical Research Unit
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Joel S. Schuman, MD, FACS
Kenneth L. Roper, MD Endowed Chair
Vice Chair for Research Innovation
Vickie and Jack Farber Vision Research Center
Co-Director, Glaucoma Service
Wills Eye Hospital
Professor, Department of Ophthalmology
Sidney Kimmell Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University
Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Drexel University School of Biomedical Engineering, Science and Health Systems

Mahnaz Shahidi, PhD
Professor of Ophthalmology and Biomedical Engineering
Riffenburgh Professor in Glaucoma Research
Research Director and Vice Chair for Translational Research
Department of Ophthalmology
Roski Eye Institute
Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California

Stephen H. Tsang, MD, PhD
Professor of Ophthalmology, Pathology and Cell Biology
Columbia Stem Cell Initiative and Institute of Human Nutrition
Vagelos College of Physicians & Surgeons
Edward S. Harkness Eye Institute
New York Presbyterian Hospital

Valerie A. Wallace, PhD
D. K. Johnson Chair in Vision Research
Co-Director, D. K. Johnson Eye Institute
Donald K. Johnson Eye Institute
Krembil Research Institute
University Health Network

Janey L. Wiggs, MD, PhD
Paul Austin Chandler Professor, Department of Ophthalmology
Vice Chair for Clinical Research, Ophthalmology 
Harvard Medical School
Associate Director, Ocular Genomics Institute
Co-Director, Glaucoma Center of Excellence
Massachusetts Eye and Ear
Associate Member, Broad Institute
MIT and Harvard


John S. Penn, PhD
Scientific Advisor to the RPB Board of Trustees and Special Advisor
to RPB Staff
KTEF Endowed Director of Pediatric Vision Research
Vice Chairman, Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

Robert Eugene Anderson, MD, PhD
Special Consultant to RPB Staff 
George Lynn Cross Research Professor Emeritus of Cell Biology and Ophthalmology
University of Oklahoma College of Medicine

John E. Dowling, PhD
Special Consultant to RPB Staff
Gordon and Llura Gund Research Professor of Neurosciences, EMERITUS
Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology
Harvard University

Sheila K. West, PhD
Special Consultant to RPB Staff
El  - Maghraby Professor of Preventive Ophthalmology
Dana Center for Preventive Ophthalmology
Wilmer Eye Institute
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine









Get our email updates filled with the latest news from our researchers about preventing vision loss, treating eye disease and even restoring sight. Unsubscribe at any time. Under our privacy policy, we'll never share your contact information with a third party.